No products in the cart.

SUMMER CLOSURE - Orders placed from 07/31 to 08/16/2020 will be shipped from 08/17/2020

Carole Tolila and Anne-Charlotte Le Grand talk to you about our capsule collection

OurS’on

The birth of the collaboration

What made you want to get together for this irresistible collaboration?

Carole: I knew the brand because I made a feature for nursery schools (france5) on children’s glasses and I really liked their designs. Also, this feature left me with a great memory, the set went a bit mad that day… we laughed a lot! In short, a few months later, I’m enjoying Playtime and being on the Ki ET LA stand. I’d had the idea of glasses for kids buzzing around my head for a while. So I slipped my idea into the conversation and Anne-Charlotte called me back!

Anne-Charlotte: The meeting with Carole, sparkling, creative and generous! We always enjoyed spending time with each other putting this project together and ensuring that our little glasses would be a big hit with kids most of all (but also their mums 😉

Why not a pair of sunglasses in the shape of an animal?

Carole : To make kids’ stuff even more irresistible! I thought that babies’ sunglasses made children look rather sad. Too big, ugly colours, unsuitable… in short, I didn’t like anything about them. I wanted more fun, more cuteness. To begin with, I was designing this model in the shape of a cat, but we finally switched to a bear because we could only make one mould.

Anne-Charlotte : Carole was thinking about a little cat’s head to make the glasses nicer for children to wear. For financial and technical reasons, we were thinking about an animal that would be cute and appeal to both boys and girls: it just had to be a bear cub!

 

Your inspirations

Where did you get your inspiration from?

Carole: Nowhere to begin with. I really just had a picture of these glasses in my head. When I really started working on the project for Ki ET LA and we had to move towards the bear cub idea, we created a mood board shared with Anne-Charlotte. And then it became obvious, when we looked at the project… we really wanted a kawaii-style bear cub! We collected loads of images taking us in that direction!

Anne-Charlotte: The feel of a summer evening, the low light on our little bear cubs playing in the sand until sunset. The reflective effects (that you find on our lenses) and soft, delicious colours. Also, a more urban and Parisian feel, cobblestones, reflections in the Seine and a cute baby in front of the Eiffel Tower!

The collab'!

Could you describe this pair of glasses in 3 words?

Carole: Fun. Practical. Durable.
Anne-Charlotte: Adorable, Fun and Original!

The Made in France challenge !

Why a Made in France model for this collaboration (a great attraction of this capsule collection)?

Carole: I like to accentuate our savoir faire, so that always seemed to be the best option to me. It’s true that it’s sometimes a bit complicated when it comes to questions of costs. In my collaborations, I always try to manufacture in France, but I also have to adapt to production techniques implemented by the brand. When Anne-Charlotte told me the good news and said that it was OK, we would be able to bring manufacturing back to France…I was sooo happy! But it’s true, I was a bit stressed out afterwards. To manufacture in France, we had to wait another year because you can’t just wave a magic wand. I was worried that a pair of ‘animal’ glasses would appear on the market. We’ve been working on this project for more than two years, so I couldn’t wait to talk about it and show it to people!

Anne-Charlotte: Ki ET LA has been trying to get things manufactured in France for several years. This exclusive collaboration with high added value is the perfect opportunity for us to test our customers’ reaction to this type of Made in France product and to test an inevitably slightly higher price positioning.

What was the most difficult challenge this collaboration had to face?

Carole: For me, it was to design a model that would appeal to both boys and girls. Like having to make a single mould for questions of cost, we had to find the right animal and the right colours that both boys, girls and parents would like! I felt duty-bound to make pink sunglasses because my daughter is mad about the colour (although I assure you that I’ve brought her up surrounded by every colour of the rainbow, but there’s only one colour for her!!). So, I wasn’t going to make another pair in blue! We turned towards beige after multiple tests. We wanted to stay close to our bear cub, but I have to say I’m not that keen on browns. Anyway… I hope you’ll like the colours, children dear!!

Anne-Charlotte: Finding the right French partner to manufacture our product and all the actors who assisted with the project in record time.

Your green credentials

We talk about Made in France and more responsible purchasing, but what is your green approach on an everyday basis?

Carole: For these glasses, I didn’t want the packaging to be thrown away. I suggested the idea of a sand mould for the beach. It was very complicated to develop and to make but the Ki ET LA teams did it!! They’re amazing!

Otherwise, I’ve cut the number of flights I take, I’m eating less meat, using less plastic (I don’t buy cling-film or plastic bags any more and I buy fewer bottles of water). I buy organic produce and I’ve changed to washable cotton pads.

I’ve also given my time to create a festival called “Familywood” to help families who are trying to be more ecological. Project developed with Gaëlle from Eveil et Conseil.

Anne-Charlotte: I haven’t used cotton pads for quite a while (thanks to one of Carole’s stories that convinced me), I’m a compulsive buyer (and seller) of vintage (it no longer holds any secrets for me 🙂 I recycle, of course, I use public transport or cycle when I can and, most importantly, I’m teaching my daughter the little things that she can do to help save the planet.

Your everyday role as a mum

You’re both mothers, so how do you juggle your work and family life on an everyday basis?

Carole: I’m always on the run, thinking non-stop and planning everything ahead. It’s wonderful to be able to work and have children. I look at it as a real opportunity, but I have to say I’m often under pressure. Juggling is the word that best describes it. We’re always in equilibrium. It takes a lot of energy and knowing how to be constantly productive. I’m also lucky that I can rely on my husband (Thomas Isle) to be involved in the upbringing of the children as much as I am.

Anne-Charlotte: A good arrangement! An iCloud diary shared with a really hands-on husband (sharing 100% and even 200% of the chores around the home !!!) and regular long weekends to recharge our batteries and enjoy quality time as a family. We go for the quality of the time we spend together, rather than the quantity, and everyone gets together!!

Your future projects

 

What are your plans for the future?

Carole: I’ve been filming a mini series on my own about a primary school class, to help parents understand what’s going on this year. I’m trying to get funding for the editing. It’s a great project and I hope I can pull it off!

Anne-Charlotte: A second baby who will arrive next June and extend our family, and lots of little brothers/sisters for this lovely OurSon model.

Votre panier est vide.

Carole Tolila et Anne-Charlotte Le Grand vous parlent de la collection capsule

OurS’on

NAISSANCE DE LA COLLAB...

Qu’est-ce qui vous a donné envie d’imaginer ensemble cette belle collaboration à croquer ?

Carole : Je connaissais la marque car j’avais fait une chronique pour les maternelles (France5) sur les lunettes pour enfants et j’avais beaucoup aimé leurs modèles. En plus, cette chronique m’a laissé un super souvenir, la folie s’était emparée du plateau ce jour là…nous avions beaucoup ri. Bref, quelques mois plus tard, je passe au Playtime et sur le stand de Kietla. Cela faisait un moment que me trottait dans la tête une idée de lunettes pour enfants. J’ai donc glissé dans la conversation mon envie et Anne-Charlotte m’a rappelé !

Anne-Charlotte :  La rencontre avec Carole, pétillante, créative et généreuse ! Nous avons toujours passé de bons moments à imaginer ce projet ensemble et à faire en sorte que nos petites lunettes fassent craquer avant tout les enfants mais aussi leurs mamans 😉

Pourquoi une paire de lunettes de soleil en forme d’animal ?

Carole : Pour avoir des bouilles d’enfants encore plus à croquer ! Je trouvais que les lunettes pour bébés donnaient un air trop triste aux enfants. Trop grosses, couleurs moches, pas adaptées…bref je trouvais que rien n’allait. J’avais envie de plus de fun, plus de mignonnerie. Au début j’ai pensé ce modèle en forme de chat mais on a finalement réorienté vers l’ours comme nous pouvions faire qu’un seul moule.

Anne-Charlotte : Carole avait plutôt en tête un petit chat pour rendre les lunettes plus sympa à porter pour les enfants. Pour des raisons économiques et techniques nous avons réfléchi à un animal plutôt mixte et mignon: de toute évidence l’ourson !

VOS INSPIRATIONS

Quelles ont été vos sources d’inspirations ?

Carole : Alors au départ aucune. J’ai vraiment imaginé ces lunettes dans ma tête. Quand j’ai commencé à travailler vraiment le dossier pour kietla et qu’il a fallu réorienter en ours, nous avons crée un moodboard partagé avec Anne-Charlotte. Et là clairement, à la vue de ce dossier… nous avions très envie d’un ourson Kawaii ! Nous avions vraiment amassé les images qui allaient dans ce sens !

Anne-Charlotte : L’ambiance estivale de fin de journée, les lumières rasantes sur nos petits oursons qui jouent dans le sable jusqu’au coucher de soleil. Des jeux de reflets (que l’on retrouve sur nos verres) et des couleurs douces et gourmandes. Egalement une ambiance plus urbaine et parisienne, pavés, reflets sur la seine et bébé à croquer devant la Tour Eiffel !

LA COLLAB

Comment décririez-vous cette paire de lunettes en 3 mots ?

Carole : Fun. Pratique. Durable.

Anne-Charlotte : Adorable, fun et originale !

LE DÉFI DU MADE IN FRANCE !

Pourquoi un modèle Made in France pour cette collaboration (un atout fort de cette capsule) ?

Carole : J’aime valoriser notre savoir-faire donc ça me semble toujours être la meilleure option. C’est vrai que pour des questions de coûts c’est parfois très compliqué. Dans mes collabs, je tente toujours de produire en France mais je dois aussi m’adapter aux techniques de production mises en place par la marque. Quand Anne-Charlotte m’a annoncé la bonne nouvelle et m’a dit c’est bon on va réussir à rapatrier la production en France…j’étais hyper contente ! Bon après faut que je sois franche j’étais aussi un peu stressée. Pour produire en France, nous avons dû attendre un an de plus car tout ne se fait pas en un claquement de doigts. J’avais très peur qu’une paire de lunettes “animal” sorte sur le marché. Cela fait plus de 2 ans que l’on travaille sur ce projet, donc j’avais hâte d’en parler et de la montrer !

Anne-Charlotte : Depuis plusieurs années Ki ET LA a engagé une démarche pour fabriquer en France. Cette collaboration exclusive avec une forte valeur ajoutée est pour nous l’occasion parfaite pour tester l’accueil de nos clients sur ce type de produits Made in France et de tester un positionnement prix de fait un peu plus élevé.

 

Quel a été le challenge le plus difficile à relever pour cette collab ?

Carole : Pour moi c’était de faire un modèle mixte. Comme pour des questions de coûts nous avons fait un seul moule, il fallait trouver le bon animal et les bonnes couleurs qui plaisent aux garçons, aux filles et aux parents ! Je me devais de faire des lunettes roses car, j’ai ma fille qui est accro à cette couleur (pourtant je vous assure que je l’élève en mode arc en ciel mais ça ne marche pas chez elle !!). Donc je n’allais pas faire une autre paire en bleu ! Nous nous sommes orientés vers le beige après de multiples essais. Nous voulions rester proche d’un ours mais c’est vrai que les bruns je n’aimais pas trop. Bref…j’espère que les couleurs plairont chers enfants !!

Anne-Charlotte : Trouver le bon partenaire français pour le fabriquer notre produit et tous les acteurs qui ont participé au projet en un temps record.

VOS GESTES GREEN

On parle de Made in France et d’achat plus responsable, quels sont vos gestes green au quotidien ?

Carole : Pour ces lunettes, je ne voulais pas que l’on jette l’emballage. J’ai proposé l’idée du moule de plage. C’était très compliqué à développer et à faire mais les équipes de ki et la l’ont fait !! Ils sont forts !

Sinon, moi j’ai ralenti mes allers/retours en avion, ma consommation de viandes, de plastique (je n’achète plus de film transparent/sac plastiques/peu de bouteilles d’eau). J’achète bio et je suis passée au coton lavable.

J’ai aussi donné de mon temps pour créer un festival qui s’appelle “Familywood” afin d’aider des familles en transition écologique. Projet développé avec Gaëlle d’Eveil et Conseil.

Anne-Charlotte : Je n’utilise plus de cotons depuis un bon moment (et ce grâce une story de Carole qui m’avait convaincue!) , je suis une acheteuse (et vendeuse) compulsive en seconde main…(Vinted n’a plus aucun secret pour moi 🙂 ). Faire le tri bien sûr, se déplacer en transport ou en vélo quand je le peux et surtout commencer à apprendre à ma fille les gestes simples pour la planète.

VOTRE RÔLE DE MAMAN AU QUOTIDIEN

 

Mamans toutes les deux, comment faites-vous au quotidien pour jongler entre travail et vie de famille ?

Carole : Je cours, réfléchis non stop et anticipe tout. C’est génial de pouvoir travailler et avoir des enfants. Je le vis comme une vrai chance mais je dois avouer que je suis souvent sous pression. Jongler c’est le mot qui convient. On est en équilibre tout le temps. Il faut beaucoup d’énergie, et savoir être productive constamment. J’ai aussi la chance de pouvoir compter sur un mari (Thomas Isle) pour assurer autant que moi l’éducation des enfants.

Anne-Charlotte : Une bonne organisation! Un agenda iCloud partagé avec un mari super présent (partage des tâches à 100% chez nous, voir 200 !!!) et de longs week-ends régulièrement pour recharger  les batteries et profiter de bons moments en famille. On privilégie la qualité des instants passés ensemble plutôt que la quantité et tout le monde s’y retrouve !!

VOS PROJETS FUTURS

 

Quels sont vos projets futurs ?

Carole : J’ai tourné seule pendant un an une mini série sur une classe de CP pour aider les parents à comprendre ce qui se joue cette année. Là je vais essayer de trouver du financement pour le montage. C’est un énorme projet et j’espère qu’il va aboutir !

Anne-Charlotte : Un deuxième bébé qui viendra agrandir notre famille au mois de Juin prochain et plein de petits frères/soeurs à ce joli modèle Ourson !